Letter on blind spot

blind spot

source: http://www.elixirofknowledge.com/

When I drove to work today I could see a blind woman jogging with her guide dog. Although she was fighting against the cold wind, she looked very motivated and seemed to enjoy running, whilst I had the heating on in my car, almost up to the maximum.

Her being blind reminded me that I once cared for a young girl aged twelve, who suffered a severe illness and lost her sight at the age of 3 years, when I volunteered at a farm many years ago. I always asked her how she was seeing the world, and if she was dreaming in colours. Although many years have passed already, I still remember how she could sense emotions and feelings without asking for it. She could stand beside me noticing my feelings without me saying a word. I feel very blessed that I had this experience and the connection to this girl. She was very ambitious and when I visited the family years after her mother told me “my little girl” had started to study at the university and kept going her way. I felt so proud of her.

When I thought about “being blind” I realized that I have gotten my blind spots as well. There is a lot which I cannot see and do not look into. Normally I would look at the big picture and assume things to be. From the feedback and reality checks I get from others I know that there is way more which I do not include into my perception or point of view. When I talk about this I mean the positive things because I focus mostly on what could go “wrong” or has gone “wrong” already. I’ve read a lot about self-criticism and could find myself in almost every summary I’ve read up to now. Even when I mention positive things I do not allow myself to let them fully sink into my mind. I am not consciously searching for other positive things.

By looking at the blind spot I was reminded to dig for deeper insights and bright images to get a broader picture.
And I know there are a lot of undiscovered treasures inside myself. The only thing I need to do is being an archaeologist and discover my own artefacts, layer by layer.

Love,

Barbara

treasures

http://www.english.rfi.fr

About shamanicspiderwoman

I am a courageous woman who left everything behind to move from Austria to Australia together with her family. I have started a training as shamanic midwife last year and enjoy this healing process and the connection with my tribe. I love to connect with the peace and silence of nature. I love the abundance I have got with my family. I am a writer on my path to publish my first short fiction book "Kassandra" in German. I am very passionate about connecting with other women on passion, sexuality and as shamanicspiderwoman I love to weave my web of creativity with love and humility.
This entry was posted in Shamanic and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letter on blind spot

  1. embodiments says:

    Love you, your pen name and your posts

    xxxx

Leave a Reply

